The Garrett Chapel, also known as the “Little Chapel on the Mount” was built by Evelyn and Paul Garrett, who founded and
ran Garrett and Company from 1902 until 1940. Garrett and Company was once among the largest wine producers in the world,
with peak output exceeding 10 million gallons per year. Much of the grapes were grown on this very spot, on approximately 4000
acres of land in the Finger Lakes.
Today, the Garrett Chapel stands as the last significant remnant of this once great organization.
The chapel was erected in memory of Evelyn and Paul's son Charles, who died of tuberculosis in 1929. Many of the Garrett children
died young, and Charles was the only son to survive to adulthood. With him died the family name and the heir apparent of Garrett
and Company. Survived by his parents and three sisters, the family sought to commemorate his life and the principles to which they
subscribed by building this chapel on the place he loved most – Bluff Point. » Read More «